China signs agreement with ICCBS-UoK

International Center for Chemical and Biological Sciences (ICCBS), University of Karachi (UoK) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Beijing Traditional Chinese Medicine Hospital (BTCMH), Capital Medical University, China.


The ICCBS Spokesman on Wednesday said that Prof. Dr. M. Iqbal Choudhary, Director of the International Center for Chemical and Biological Sciences, and COMSTECH Coordinator-General, and Prof. Dr. Liu Qingquan, Director of the Beijing Hospital of Traditional Chinese Medicine signed the MoU on behalf of their institutions in the inaugural ceremony of the Sino-Pakistan Symposium on Traditional Chinese Medicine-Traditional Unani Medicine held at the ICCBS – University of Karachi recently (June 9, 2021).

The ceremony was also attended by Prof. Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman, Chairman of Prime Minister’s Task Force on Science and Technology, and Prof. Dr. Khalid M. Iraqi, the Vice-Chancellor University of Karachi. The spokesman said, “The broad objectives of this MoU are to promote co-operation in the fields of traditional medicine, these activities should be carried out in accordance with the laws and regulations of the respective countries.”

It is worth mentioning here that the ICCBS was the only institution in Pakistan that was not only certified by ISO but it also became ‘UNESCO Centre for Excellence Category-2 Institute’, he said.  
It is also pertinent to mention here that BTCMH is the only comprehensive and modern municipal Tertiary Level III Grade-A TCM hospital in Beijing. The hospital is responsible for traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) treatment, teaching, scientific research, and prevention of disease in Beijing.

As per the MOU, both the institutions will encourage cooperation in the field of traditional medicine, on the basis of relevant international laws and domestic laws. The areas of mutual cooperation include jointly conduct clinical trials of selected TCM products, TCM doctor training program, jointly organization of bilateral or multilateral conferences, symposia, seminars, and other scientific meetings, co-supervision of MA and Ph.D. students and etc.